Fiddlers Green

Downloadable Fun!
It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Piper Cub Problems
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:25 am 
Paper Model Overlord

I find myself in need of help on the Piper Cub. I’m as green as gress to the card models. I did a few plastic years earlier but card is different. I picked the Piper Cub because I thought it would be the easiest one to start with. Maybe wrong. I stated with the wing. Got it cut out alright but it how it goes together. There is a slit in the wing on one side. It reads glue tab first. Trim as needed. Glue to what?
One the trailing edge it read score, fold & glue. Glue to other trailing edge? And then there are the tabs at the fuselage. No clue where they go. So as you can see I’m a real noob and a 1000% one at that. I had no idea it was going to be this hard. I hope I didn’t get into something that’s over my head. Thanks for any help any one can offer. OMG!!!

Post subject: Re: Piper Cub Problems
PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:27 pm 
Supreme Paper Commander

Hey there again. I posted a bit of advise on the papermodelers forum the other day.

Let me see if I can figure out your problem. From what I read, you had three main concerns. Let's start with the wing tabs.

- On the trailing edge (lower side I think) of the wings there is a long glue tab. You need to score that tab so that it will bend up and glue to the trailing edge that mirrors it (top side, same end of wing). Do that first for both sides of the wing.

- The part that it talks about trimming is the wing tip I believe. Once you get the wing formed and in the proper airfoil shape, glue the wing tips together. I think Chip purposely put a little extra material there to make sure the tips would close. Once the glue on the tips is set, trim the edges around the wing tip to make a nice flush look. Sometimes you only need to trim a millimeter or two.