Fiddlers Green

Downloadable Fun!
It is currently Wed Dec 12, 2018 8:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: UH-1 "IROQUOIS"
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:26 pm 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
i decided to build this copter ......the third page is cut off at the bottom.....i can fix it ..but....it would be nice if that section could be moved up a bit.....what ya think???/.....here is a pic also.....i extended the lines with a pencil to show where the problem is........thanks...
:D :D

http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g174/ ... 0_0888.jpg


this was on the Artic scheme....i checked another version and it had the same problem...

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 4:25 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 779
Location: Phoenix
Did you let Chip know? I never noticed that one before.

_________________
Image
We have enough youth. How about a "Fountain of Smart".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 5:50 pm 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
see if it prints out for you please......i resized it on photoshop to 95% and it worked....

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:05 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 779
Location: Phoenix
I printed off page 3 of 3 of the versions (Large,Trainer, Arctic), and they all printed fine, not cut off.

I printed straight from the web.

Then downloaded the arctic version and printed it straight from acrobat reader, again without it cutting off.

Can't tell you what's going on, sorry.

_________________
Image
We have enough youth. How about a "Fountain of Smart".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:22 pm 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
hmmmmmm...thats strange......i am totally confused now..... :?: :?: :?

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 11:32 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 779
Location: Phoenix
Hmmmm..... If I remember correctly, we had to fudge the margins on that page. It's like 7.6x10.6. Are you using Acrobat reader to print the files?
Maybe adjust the print margins.

_________________
Image
We have enough youth. How about a "Fountain of Smart".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:21 am 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
i adjusted the margins to "0" and i still get the same problem...heres what i did...opened the sheet 3....print preview..made sure scale was set at 100%....then i opened the page set up...all the margins were set at 0.5in......i reset them all to "0"clicked ok and went back to print...hit the print button...still no change :cry: :cry: surely some one out there has more savy than me and can help me fix this....i waste a lot of paper and printer ink because of this problem.... :evil: this is not the only model that has this problem.....

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:50 am 
Offline
Supreme Paper Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 10:42 am
Posts: 3077
Location: Papillion, NE
My Mac will do that if I print from the Preview program sometimes. It has done it a couple of times in Adobe Acrobat too. If there is a small margin on the bottom it WILL cut it off. I usually have to use my wife's PC and print straight from the internet. Anytime I've printed from a file it's been through Photoshop, and that always works. That's me though. I tried resizing once, and that was a catastophe. I think I went the wrong way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:03 am 
Offline
Paper Model CINC
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:34 am
Posts: 955
Location: Pensacola
The file is exceeding the allowable print size for your letter size print for your printer...the problem with 'fudging the size by a few fractions of an inch--with most printers, ter'ed be no problem--but with a few........ Do you have any other program you can use to open the pdf? Acrobat doesn't offer a scalng option for most printers. If you have GIMP--a free download, you can rescale the print by a few percent, to get it to fit the page. I almost never use Acrobat to open fies for printing--as I have less control over them.

_________________
-Rob-

Currently working on: see avatar


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:55 am 
Offline
Supreme Paper Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Exactly the same thing happened to me when I printed out the Huey. The last page wasnt sized the same as the first two and I got a bit of the fuselage around the engine left off the page. I have a very old HP printer at home that doesnt allow scaling; only origninal size and fit to page; if I went with fit to page, the first two pages would be 100% but the last would be 97%. So, I went with origninal size and accepted the gap.

This seems to be a problem when individual pdfs are used, as opposed to single pdf files. I cant be certain, but I suspect that if all three pages where in the same pdf, then all pages would be the same size when you clicked on the "fit to page" button. But still, its a bit sloppy...this kind of thing really shouldnt crop up at all in a finished product.


You can see the effect in the picture here:

http://img83.imageshack.us/my.php?image=huey2gg3.jpg

I colourd the strip in with a coloured pencil that was as close as I could find to the fusalage colour, but it still looks a bit odd...but only to those who know it shouldnt look like that :wink:

The colour printer we have at work allows scaling to what ever size you like, so if you have an up to date printer, it should be possible to scale all pages to the same size as the one page that wont fit at 100%, if you see what I mean.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:14 am 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
here is what irks me......i run off a model......and maybe i dont notice the misprint till i have already finished printing....i am not great at coloring...or redrawing.....i just want to build models.......if i change the printer settings to "print to page....or some other setting...then the scale will not be the smae on each page....and it makes for a reallly lousy fit......i guess i can run each model through photoshop now....but it is quite a hassle....all i want is to print and build .....i dont repaint....or any of the other design thingies..... :? :? i am not tech person when it comes to computers nor understand a lot of the jargon.....i just want to print and build....... :roll: :roll:

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 6:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 5:01 pm
Posts: 779
Location: Phoenix
I'm out of my league too. Every printer I've ever printed it on has printed it without a problem, and without any extra work.

_________________
Image
We have enough youth. How about a "Fountain of Smart".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 7:04 pm 
Offline
Botbuster Master
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 5:08 pm
Posts: 2345
Location: HARTSHORNE, OKLA.
ohh well..i aint gonna fret over it...life is too short....lol..... :lol: :D ...thanks....

_________________
Laterz
Possm_23
Never say anything you wouldnt think out loud!
Take your time leavin.....but hurry back!!!!
Every tub has to sit on its own bottom!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UH-1 "IROQUOIS"
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:09 pm 
Offline
FG Tissue Paper
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 7:24 am
Posts: 5
I just printed off an OD Slick Huey, and I'm sure this is topic's a little old, but it seems fixed now! Thanks!

I've been all over a huey, and pre build, it looks great!

Very acurate model indeed!

Only things I can see are no danger arrow and the part labeled "radio antenna" in the plans is not the antenna-it's the upper wire cutter to keep it from getting tangled in powerlines and such. This doesn't have the real antenna, but it'd be hard to get right in paper, I think. It would be a thin peice of paper rounded over like a wing/blade that would be really hard to put on.

(although somebody's liable to yell about the number-it should be the last digit of the production year (except 60's, those are 64, 68, etc. - (a dash) then the rest of the 5-digit serial number, with the last 3 digits usually being white as identifier numbers, with those 3 digits either being small white on the front doors and nose, or done the way that they are in the medivac huey.)

Great kit, can't wait until I get mine built, and hopefully I can get one built around a Syma s107g somehow, probably with heavy cardstock and some cardboard re-enforecement.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: UH-1 "IROQUOIS"
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 1:17 pm 
Offline
Supreme Paper Commander
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 2:15 pm
Posts: 1421
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Be sure to post some pictures!

I keep meaning to try repainting this one and adding on the guns and rockets. Someday...

_________________
now repainting:
CF-100 (PM Download)
Mig-15


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group